"Impossible goals..."

Posted by Breanne Smedley |

"Impossible goals…"

Goal setting...it’s one of those things that I’ve always understood the importance of, but never really connected to that much.

But, I think I know why.

It’s because the goals I’ve set don’t exactly light a fire under me like I think they should.

"No sugar for 30 days.." Check.
Ok, how about "Run a 5K in less than 24 minutes.." Check.
Alright.."Read 12 books in 12 months.." Check.

Don’t get me wrong, I think these are all "good" things that have helped me improve my health and my mindset.

But, I never had to question if I was going to achieve any of those things.

They were going to happen, because most of my daily actions were in alignment with them already.

I workout every day.
I read every day.
I eat clean the majority of the time.

Pretty sure I would have accomplished my "goals" even if I didn’t set them.

Recently, I was introduced to the idea of "Impossible Goals" through Brooke Castillo’s Life Coach School (https://thelifecoachschool.com/).

It’s the idea of setting big, massive goals that feel incredibly impossible.

Because, we often think small. In terms of what we believe is possible.

Creating our futures solely based on our past...meaning the result is that our lives look the same for the rest of our lives.

It makes sense...why would I set a goal I didn’t believe I could achieve?

Shouldn’t I use my past success/failure when deciding what’s possible for my future?

What this inevitably does is cause us to stop creating.
Stop believing past our current capacity.
Stop growing.

Until we end up in what Kristina and I call in our Life Design Lab as our "Accidental Future."

Asking ourselves, "how did I end up here?"

That’s not what I want for my life.

Turns out, setting "impossible goals" in which we stretch what is possible expands the way our brain thinks.

Creating a vision of a goal, along with the excitement and energy associated with it, requires us to think in a much bigger way.

Which is the mental work needed to allow us to not only see what’s possible, but start the process of working towards that goal.

So, over the past couple weeks within the Life Design Lab, I’ve been challenged to think about an impossible goal for myself.

Something so outside of what my past would determine for my future.

Something that makes me scared, excited, and emotional.

I think I have one, because I don’t even want to share it. For fear that others might not think it’s possible for me, either.

For fear that I might not achieve it.

But, that’s the point. Even if impossible goals aren’t achieved, the fact that taking tiny action steps towards them will lead me closer and closer.

So, my impossible goal: To teach part-time by Fall of 2021.

To allow me the freedom to be with my family more.
To allow me the space to continue to build the business with Kristina.
To grow the business of mindset coaching with female athletes.

It seems impossible.

But, already, my brain has found a few ways to make it happen.
Things I would have never considered before.

It’s exciting. And scary.

Forget SMART goals with all the "realistic" talk.

Impossible goals are where it’s at.

Because once our brain is stretched.
Once we start believing beyond how we’ve limited ourselves..

We start to find ways to make the impossible possible.

===

About The Author